Sunday, April 29, 2018

Are you considering a run for elected office in the City of Lake Worth?

If so, below is very important information
you need to know.

For example, did you know there will not be an election of candidates in 2020? Due to a referendum that passed quite easily in 2017, the electeds in this City now serve three year terms. So following the elections next year (March 2019) the next scheduled election cycle will be in March 2021.

Is getting an early start a big help?

District 1 candidate Sarah Malega got a very early start in 2017 but still lost to Scott Maxwell last March in the 2018 election cycle. But Mr. Herman Robinson also got an early start in 2016 and won the District 4 seat in March 2017. So it cuts both ways.

However, to avoid any potential disappointment, and even heartbreak, please learn more about something called, “nonpartisan elections” (more about that in detail below). The next election season in the City will officially begin at noon on November 27th with the 2-week Qualifying Period that ends on December 11th at noon. Stop by and visit the Lake Worth City Clerk on Monday–Friday, 9:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m. or call 561-586-1662 if you have any questions.

Who is already in the running for the March 2019 elections in Districts 2 and 4 in this City?

Posted on Facebook last month
by District 2 Commissioner Hardy.

Click on image to enlarge:
Commissioner Herman C. Robinson represents the City’s District 4.

Whilst on the topic of ‘nonpartisan elections’
the information below is “Worth Noting”. 

From City of Lake Worth’s City Charter. . .

“Lake Worth, Florida — Code of Ordinances —
Part I, Subpart A, Article V (Qualifications and Elections), Section 1, “Nonpartisan elections”:

All qualifications and elections for the offices of mayor and city commissioner shall be conducted on a nonpartisan basis without regard for or designation of political party affiliation of any nominee on any nomination petition or ballot.

From the City’s website, “Mayor & Commissioners”:

According to the provisions set forth in the City Charter, Lake Worth operates a Commission–Manager form of government. Authority is vested in an elected City Commission, which, in turn, appoints the City Manager.
     The City Commission is comprised of five members who serve staggered two-year terms [now three-year terms per referendum in March 2017] and are elected on a nonpartisan basis by residents of the City. The Mayor is elected by a city-wide vote to serve a two-year term [sic] as the presiding officer at City Commission Meetings and as the official head of the City of Lake Worth for legislative and ceremonial purposes. The City Commission is responsible for passing Ordinances and other policy directives necessary for the operation of the City.

Hope you found this information helpful.